The Kennet & Avon Canal: A Survivor’s Tail

A random bit of Kennet & Avon Canal

It’s hard to believe I know, but I do occasionally leave Cactus World to visit mystical, far away places.  It’s good to reach out to other cultures and immerse yourself for a time within an alien environment, mixing with people who have a totally different word view to your own.  So I recently found myself spending five and a half days walking from Avonmouth back to Reading, along the River Avon and Kennet & Avon Canal.  For those that don’t know, Avonmouth is by the Bristol Channel and thus nearly in Wales, which is of course a real foreign country.  I endured 100 miles of physical and psychological torture, increasingly poor quality cider and lovely sunny weather, staring down at the path in front of me for hours on end, whilst acting as prey for psychopathic cyclists who prowl the National Cycle Network (mainly Route 4) in feral packs, searching for lone walkers to victimise and kill.  I spent most of the trip reading The Hunger Games Trilogy; by the end I think I’d lost my mind a bit and I really thought I was actually a tribute in the Hunger Games, what with the hunger, thirst, injuries and homicidal cyclists that I had to deal with.  Here then, is my story. 

One response

  1. Pingback: 101 Reykjavík / Hedge-laying |

Leave a Reply

